John Calvin is My Homeboy

IF YOU LIVE IN SEATTLE, STOP WHAT YOU ARE DOING. GO TO THIS CHURCH AND TELL ME STORIES.

Personally, I don’t get Calvinism. Why would anyone join a religion that believes you’re either predetermined for heaven or hell, there’s nothing you can do to change that, but you STILL need to adhere to rigorous puritanical
morality ?

Still, I’d go to this guy’s sermon’s just to see him lay the smackdown on modern Christian culture. As you can see, this guy owns:

The mainstream church, Driscoll has written, has transformed Jesus into “a Richard Simmons, hippie, queer Christ,” a “neutered and limp-wristed popular Sky Fairy of pop culture that . . . would never talk about sin or send anyone to hell.”.

Driscoll disdains the prohibitions of traditional evangelical Christianity. Taboos on alcohol, smoking, swearing and violent movies have done much to shape American Protestant culture – a culture that he has called the domain of “chicks and some chickified dudes with limp wrists.”

And my favorite:

Driscoll is adamantly not the “weepy worship dude” he associates with liberal and mainstream evangelical churches, “singing prom songs to a Jesus who is presented as a wuss who took a beating and spent a lot of time putting product in his long hair.

There’s just something appealing about someone called “the cussing pastor”. I wonder if you’re allowed to bring popcorn? If they say anything you could just say it was “predetermined”.

3 thoughts on “John Calvin is My Homeboy

  1. I used to attend Mars Hill, but the Calvinism and some other stuff eventually turned me off.

    Anyway, Mark Driscoll is totally awesome. He preaches in T-shirts and jeans and he vaulted himself to the position of “best pastor ever” in my mind by being the only pastor I’ve ever heard use the word “clitoris” from the pulpit.

  2. Calvinsim is the truth. Read Ephesians 1, Matthew 20:16, 24:22, Mark 13:22, John 6:37, John 6:39, John 6:44, John 6:65, John 15:16, Romans 8:29, and many more mention it. Now, as to your earlier question about “Why would anyone join a religion that believes you’re either predetermined for heaven or hell, there’s nothing you can do to change that, but you STILL need to adhere to rigorous puritanical
    morality?” Simple. I am so unbelievably grateful God chose me, not because I’ve done anything to deserve his grace, simply because it fits his purpose, that I will serve him till death. I adhere to rigorous and serious mortification and sanctification standards, because I owe him even more than that. I deserve death and eternal damnation, but God has extended me grace instead. I’d be a fool to live my life how I want, because I have been “chosen”. In fact, if there wasn’t a change in my lifestyle, my salvation is highly unlikely. I was so entrenched in drugs and atheism, that I was sarcastic as I entered a church service I was forced to attend courtesy the USMC. By the end of it, I was in tears. I am utterly convinced only God’s divine intervention is to credit. There is no way I could choose God in that state. He most assuredly chose me. However, it is more important I spread the gospel of Christ and not John Calvin. I am a follower of Christ first, a Calvinist a much distant second. I look forward to your replies and in Christ’s name I love you.

Leave a Reply

