Will you please explain this to me Mr. Obama?

Mr Obama,

One of the key theme’s being played out during this year’s democratic primary is your relatively little experience versus Hillary Clinton’s massive amounts of experience. You claim that experience is unnecessary in order to be an effective president and that voters should vote based on the issues. If this is true, will you please explain to me why your spokesman helped to create and run this ad during the 2004 primary? :

I must admit, I’m a bit confused. On the one hand Robert Gibbs, your current spokesman, seems to be saying that experience is irrelevant. But back in 2004 he said that if I voted for the inexperienced candidate then murderous terrorists, who, and I quote, “…wake up every morning determined to destroy Western Civilization” would blow up me and my family. I’m sure that I’m probably just misinterpreting the message your campaign is sending out. I know that someone who, has vowed to stay above the fray, would never take such a deceptive and misleading stance on such an important issue. So for my own personal edification, will you please point out what military or foreign policy experience you have had? I know that Senator Clinton has spent years, both as a senator and the First Lady, meeting with foreign diplomats , giving speeches in front of the UN and advising both her husband and members of his cabinet on important issues. I can’t imagine that in your half term as a Freshman Senator, you’ve amassed much experience in foreign, or domestic, policy issues. So please feel free to tell me about how many foreign leaders you’ve engaged in high level diplomatic meetings with during your time in the Illinois State Senate.
Thank you for reading. I hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely

A fellow Democrat

…It’s time Democrats think about Obama’s inexperience…THINK ABOUT IT NOW

9 thoughts on “Will you please explain this to me Mr. Obama?

  1. Experience means NOTHING, ZIP, ZILCH if it does not result in good judgement.

    Barack Obama had enough life experience by October 2002 to utter the following words.

    I know that even a successful war against Iraq will require a US occupation of undetermined length, at undetermined cost, with undetermined consequences. I know that an invasion of Iraq without a clear rationale and without strong international support will only fan the flames of the Middle East, and encourage the worst, rather than best, impulses of the Arab world, and strengthen the recruitment arm of al-Qaeda.

    I am not opposed to all wars. I’m opposed to dumb wars.

    Hillary’s years of experience resulted in thne kind of judgement that helped get us in a dumb war.

  2. Gasdocpol

    You’re attempting to change the subject, Red Herring logical fallacy. The question this ad brings up isn’t whether experience matters or not, the issue it calls into question is why Obama’s spokesperson said having experience is a life or death situation n 2004 and why he is saying experience its irrelevant npw.

  3. Video isn’t working for me. Experience is very important, that I will not deny, but you make it seem like he just jumped into politics a year ago. Governer Arnold, here in my home state is doing a HELL of a good job, and isn’t even a democrat, he had much less experience then Obama. I understand that it is a different position, but it works to scale. And think about arguably our greatest president of the 20th century, Theodore Roosevelt, he was 42 years old, and performed his duties with more Flair then a lot of 60 year old presidents. Experience isn’t everything.

  4. an attack ad 4 years ago. It could be, that perhaps Mr. Gibbs is that rare species of Democrat known as the flip flopper.

  5. Ok, so I just saw the video. Maybe Gibbs realized his mistake, seeing as how that ad may have put the man in office now where he is. Looking back at the ad, is it really true? What if we had put the “inexperienced guy” into office, wouldn’t we be in a better place now?

  6. Video isn’t working for me. Experience is very important, that I will not deny, but you make it seem like he just jumped into politics a year ago. Governer Arnold, here in my home state is doing a HELL of a good job, and isn’t even a democrat, he had much less experience then Obama. I understand that it is a different position, but it works to scale. And think about arguably our greatest president of the 20th century, Theodore Roosevelt, he was 42 years old, and performed his duties with more Flair then a lot of 60 year old presidents. Experience isn’t everything.

    Except the Governator doesn’t have to deal with foreign policy issues, like terrorism, the proliferation of nuclear weapons, rogue states, douchebag foreign leaders, the UN,etc,etc

  7. I repeat……. Experience per se means nothing. Judgement tends to improve with accumulated experience but it is not guaranteed. One can have twenty years of experience or one year or less of experience twenty times.

    The bottom line is the quality of judgement as a result of experience.

    Barack Obama showed exceptional judgement in opposing the Iraq war in Oct. 2002.

    Despite the experience of 8 years in the White House and all the national leaders with whom Hillary spoke she showed bad judgement in supporting GW Bush’s use of military force in Iraq.

Leave a Reply

