Risky Business pt 1

No cross country guy. No crazy ex-girlfriend. No dog. I have the house all to myself this weekend, and I have to say, I’m loving it already.

So I decided to stay in Friday and catch up on some valuable TV time. For some of you that might sound weird, but considering how much I love TV and how little I’ve watched it was a great night. One of the most enjoyable weekends I’ve had in quite sometime. I think that says something about my friends in Omaha.

I watched The Ninth Gate with Johnny Depp last night. I thought it was a really good movie. Not, damn it knocked my socks off good, but it was a good suspense movie about the occult. The thing I love about the movie is the mood it creates. Its not really scary, nor does it leave you on the edge of your seat, but it create a palpable atmosphere of tension with a plot that draws you in and makes you genuinely interested. More importantly, its a movie with philosophical and cinematic underlying themes which makes you think even after the movie has ended. I love movie’s that allow for multiple interpretations. Its like, when you have to interpret the meaning yourself, you become part of the world the movie creates.

Speaking of interpreting a movie, I watched American Beauty last night. Such a great movie…But I think I’m going to write about that in a separate entry.

I think the “lesson” that I took away from last night was, that its nice to be around things with depth, even if they are just movies.

Leave a Reply

