Is “12 Years A Slave” This Year’s Best Picture? (Trailer)

Watching a Quentin Tarantino movie is kind of like paying someone 8 bucks to sit in a crowded room and watch some guy jerk off on film for 2 hours. Not really my thing, but I’m not entirely surprised some of my friends are into it.  Based on my previous comments, it should come as no surprise that Django Unchained was on the top of my list of movies to completely avoid last year. Between Jamie Foxx’s inability to act and Tarantino’s inability to add any value to sentient life, Django, a spaghetti western turned slavery revenge flick didn’t really give me a warm and fuzzy.

However… there was light at the end of the tunnel. Because a few days after Django Unchained was released, a trailer for an upcoming Steve McQueen slavery film surfaced on the internet.  Although technically not a slavery movie in the fashion of Amistad, “12 years a Slave” is based on the true story of  Solomon Northup, a free born African American living in upstate New York who was kidnapped and sold into slavery for 12 years before …well I don’t want to spoil the ending.

Now, a full year later, the reviews are in and it looks like we have a winner:

If you are an Oscar hound and festival fiend such as myself, you have likely heard of the ecstatic response Steve McQueen’s newest film, 12 Years a Slave, has received on the internet. The film had a momentous response in the mountains of Telluride, where many Oscar pundits declared the Best Picture race over and done with. Then, the film made the trek north of border to Toronto, where it got an equally warm response from the more “general audience”, movie-going public at TIFF, where it won that festival’s People’s Choice Award as the festival’s best film, an award usually given to more upbeat film’s such as last year’s winner, Silver Linings Playbook.

But decided for yourself by checking out the trailer below:

One thought on “Is “12 Years A Slave” This Year’s Best Picture? (Trailer)

  1. Tarantino is hit and miss for me. It took several watches but “Pulp Fiction” grew on me while some of his other movies I’ve seen once and while I didn’t “dislike” them I wasn’t in a hurry to go purchase them. “12 years a Slave” looks like it will break through the monotony of historical films that attempt a glimpse into our past but don’t really say anything. I find myself less and less interested in historical films especially when the characters have been depicted so many times in other movies. JOhn and Bobby Kennedy for instance have countless appearances in film but when Hollywood got around to making a movie featuring Bobby it was like there really wasn’t much else to be said. They tried to drown us with a laundry list of high profile actors but it was the mOvie equivalent of eating coton candy– no sunstance. Other historical films are just missing something but i’m not sure what. I’m sure that “42” was a great movie for younger generations but the whole time I was in the theater all I could think about was how much I liked “Soul of the Game”, an HBO film that didnt just focus on Robinson, better. Remakes are inevitable in the advent of the CGI revolution but technology doesn’t replace quality. I haven’t seen Limcoln yet, but if it’s anything like the trailer I have a feeling I won’t finish it. Probably the best/worst example of why “historical accuracy” isnt always a good thing would be “passion of the Christ”. When everyone already knows the story and they stick to the story verbatim it really provides no entertainment value– I couldn’t get past the first ten minutes of that garbage so don’t hold me to the accuracy claim. It’s sad to say that sometimes you have to tell a movi like a story than a biography, whether the film is based on real people or fictional. Everyone KNEW that dam boat was going down, but “Titanic” was/is one of the highest grossing films of all time. Say what you will but the fictional story coupled with James Cameron’s vision is what made that movie a blockbuster. I guess what I’m trying to say is that if you can’t top the last guy who did a film on the same subject matter, please don’t make it at all. Slavery is not an easy subject matter to tacke in this regard. when you think about films like Glory, Roots, Amistad, etc. this film has a lit to live up to. Based on the cast and trailer, I’ very hopeful that “12 Years a Slave” will prove to be a standout.

Leave a Reply

